Home > bittorrent, free music, indie, mp3, Music, radio, The Playlist, Uncategorized > Indie 69 Jan/Feb 2011 Playlist is out now! (2 year anniversary)

Indie 69 Jan/Feb 2011 Playlist is out now! (2 year anniversary)

Indie69 Jan/Feb cover artThat’s right, the damned thing is out. And what a fantastic month(s) it is. Rather than be all confusing and put out 2 in one month (3 if you count the best of 2010), I decided to trim them both down to a nice, compact 69 tracks and start off with a bang for the new year. And there are some really great tracks in this one. There are surprises, mild disappointments, masterpieces and decent examples of genre-bending in there. I have mentioned before that when I do all BUT the best of playlists, I always keep in mind the listener who may not share my tastes. If something doesn’t seem to be my “cup of tea”, I will include it many times because I know it’s admired, anticipated or well-reviewed. This month, even in those cases I found myself genuinely impressed. Must be something in the air this year.  I live for those moments when a track that seems like its something I wont like transforms or builds in a way I didn’t expect and ends up being something that I admire or even adore. Last year a few of the more country-tinged or “Americana” leaning tracks had that effect on me. Normally, very much not my cup of tea. Horizons:Expanded. This year, I cant put a label on it yet, but it’s got a lot of bass and makes me want to get up and move. It’s also quirky as #V(k. And a little bit doo-wop. I think. Maybe. Perhaps. Nah.

So without further ado (for the moment.. rest assured I’ll continue to babble on below).. I present

.

.

.

Indie 69 Jan/Feb 2011 Playlist available HERE and at all the regular places/haunts. Grab it, share it, spread it, tweet it and fergahdsakes play it. And I mean all of it. Not just the first 20 or so. This month is special. Hear it from front to back this time. Trust me. Gifts are within. Gifts of sound. A plethora of potential transformations and synesthesiae . ahem.

.

.

.

hokey. sry.

EDIT: So after having finished all of this, I realized this is my 2 year anniversary. Yay me. Back to your regularly scheduled post.

So Nee-ways.  Just a quick reminder to be sure to follow me @indie69 and when you see playlist-notification tweets, re-tweet ’em. Do the same for all the other playlist peeps as well. Let’s get this music out there, spreading even more this year.

Listening to some of my local alt, indie and non-commercial stations, i noticed that their own “Best of” playlists for 2010 had some gaping, glaring omissions, across the board. I know radio is dying, but it’s still a bit of a barometer. And end of year lists that don’t include HUGE numbers of artists and tracks that were clearly superior, are simply unacceptable. We have to be better curators and pollinators this year. All of us. No matter if that means re-tweeting your favorite playlist releases, handing a CD to a DJ in your town or… hell.. doing your own playlist. As I’ve mentioned here before, I will do my best to make time to help anyone who wants to start doing this. (  * indiesixtynine@gmail.com )  Which reminds me, I have a gargantuan amount of e-mail to catch up with. So I should get on that now and stop going on and on here. Have a great February and look out for more short posts to highlight things I find in the interim, as well as longer reviews and a feature article here and there like old times. Love ya all.

*indie69@gmail.com is a girl in India. She won’t help you. I don’t think. Maybe she will, but she’s not me. Guaranteed. To get me, you gotta spell it out.

Cover Art Source:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/theilr/4806856995/

Alternate cover source:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/vikamno/535190786/in/photostream/

This post – Creative Commons – Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic (CC BY-SA 2.0)

see these little sharing buttons down here? use ’em! they’re not gonna press themselves. much.

  1. Banana
    February 3, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    i can’t find it… 😦

  2. February 3, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    The link is there now. Sorry, my connection went down before I was able to add the link and came back AFTER the post was scheduled to post. In other words, it posted automatically without the link and I couldn’t do anything to stop it. lol

    Oops. Seeding now.

  3. Bob Bradley
    February 4, 2011 at 4:58 am

    I have lots of experience building systems and will help if you want it. Without knowing the details of your problem except that it won’t boot to the Bios you should try working with a minimum system; That is motherboard, power supply, memory and video card. Try booting that. If it works keep adding one item at a time. If not switch video cards and see if it works. If that doesn’t work. Reseat the memory or try less memory or at last change it out for different memory (minimum memory is best to test). If none of that works you may have a bad motherboard. Just make sure that everything is connected right. Mistakes are easy. Anyway, you have my email if I can help it’s hard to do here..

    • February 5, 2011 at 9:43 pm

      Thanks, i forgot about trying to swap out the memory/removing one. I’ll try that first.

  4. March 15, 2011 at 9:45 am

    Hello:

    I’ve created this site http://indierock.x10.mx and I wonder if I could put your playlists into it and link your site to mine.
    Please, tell me.
    Thanks a lot.

    • March 15, 2011 at 1:20 pm

      Please do. I’ll post about your site in the blog and tweet about it. Great idea!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

