Home > bittorrent, free music, indie, Internet Culture, mp3, Music, The Playlist, Uncategorized > Indie and New Music Playlist Round-Up for August 2010

Indie and New Music Playlist Round-Up for August 2010

I decided to put this one together a little earlier this time. Apologies for the premature posting(this was posted accidentally a few days ago before it was finished.. a case of a mistake in scheduling). It’s never happened to me before, I swear. It’s just that.. well.. we just met and you’re so beautiful and I just… couldn’t control myself. I swear, next time it will be different. wait… what??

Last month it was FAR too late. Be sure to come back and check this post from time to time as I will edit it to add any new playlists I’ve come across. Please leave any suggestions for anything I’ve missed or messed up in the comments. And remember, if you’re interested in making your own.. just do it! And then let me know where it can be found. I’m sure your tastes are better than mine at least. Prove it!! 🙂

As always we will start off with the original, the one and only..

DAMN! No Criznittle playlist this month. Someone mentioned he was taking a couple (few?) months off for some reason. But I cannot find a post mentioning it or mentioning why. So I guess we’ll be losing the great one again for a little bit. But at least we know he’ll be back!

.

Blalock's Indie Rock Playlist August 2010 Blalock’s Indie Rock Playlist – August 2010 – A great one for August. And I like now that on his site you can vote on tracks and there’s a top 10 for the month. Nice!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Sadly, I am also not seeing an August, 2010 SAG Indie Electro Rock Playlist. I checked last.fm and found no evidence as to why. If I find out what’s up I’ll update this post with more info.

.


Navigator's Fresh Indie Playlist August 2010 Navigator’s Fresh Indie Playlist – August 2010 – Just came out yesterday, so it’s not quite seeded yet. Matter of fact, as of writing this there were no seeds at 100%. (all are at 45.8 percent at the moment) That may change in the next few hours, so this might be one you just want to let sit and wait for it to complete. It could be a while before the uploader notices that he or she isn’t actually seeding for whatever reason. (uh-oh… ISO Hunt lists it as being “censored” by a US court) Hrm. Looks like someone in the industry is learning to stab itself in the back. We’ll see how this plays out. More than one site is citing a takedown notice as the reason for the torrent not being available anymore. If anyone out there has it from a rapidshare download or any other source.. you could, if you wanted to do such a thing and violate the takedown order… seed it. But I wouldn’t want to encourage that sort of thing of course. This is new. Could it be that this playlist seems to have featured quite a few more mainstream or major label tracks than usual? Disturbing. I guess the big boys want to “control the message” so to speak. They screwed up radio and now they want to screw up everything else so that the ONLY dominant culture is tied into all their other Disneyfied properties and competitive reality TV crap. GFY. (UPDATE:Now seeded well, but still no idea why there was a takedown on some sites)

.

.

.

.

Jimdo Indie Rock Music August 2010 Jimdo Indie Rock Music – August 2010 – Good to see this one back. I hope they stick around. Sorry for calling it JIMBO last month. (fixed now)

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Indie 69 August 2010 Indie 69 New Music Playlist – August 2010 – He’s at it again. But this time it’s gigantic(138 tracks). At least the music is good. Jeeze. Quit already.

Testimonials:

“He didn’t hurt anyone.. physically.”

“Who?”

“I tried to tell him to slow down a bit, but he kept doing it anyway. And he wonders why he needs glasses now. Heh.”

.

.

.

.

The Sonic Impetus

The Sonic Impetus – The Throwback Album – A one-shot playlist suggested by xy2610. A great little collection of tracks that are new, but inspire the sense of being in the past. A nice theme, good song choices and good writing on the blog itself.  I hope we see more from this person.

.

.

.

.

.

.

..

The Sonic Impetus playlist, August 2010The Sonic Impetus – August 2010 – The creator of the above also does a short but sweet monthly playlist, as it turns out. August does indeed suck ass. And this does make it better as predicted. Nice selection. I’ve never heard of a few of those. I like that. Time to catch up. Nice cover art, huh?

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I noticed nothing new from the 2 new ones I found in July. Hope they come back. And no evidence (so far) of other new ones this month. If they do, or any of the others do, I will update this page. So check back from time to time or follow me on Twitter (@indie69) and I’ll send out a notice when it’s updated. This was a bit of a light month for playlists, huh? Hopefully it will improve over the course of the month.

Considering how few playlist releases there were this month, I may consider doing another double if I can dedicate the time at the end of the month (and in-between). If this sounds like a BAD idea, let me know. Most of the feedback so far is positive. Also, does anyone else see the blue sky theme in this month’s covers? Unintentional, of course. Strange and beautiful.

  1. xy2610
    August 17, 2010 at 10:00 am

    Found a small playlist called The Sonic Impetus to compensate this quiet month
    http://thesonicimpetus.com/2010/08/12/the-throwback-album/
    I’m still very glad that you supersized your playlist this month.

    • August 17, 2010 at 11:25 am

      Very nice. Thanks, I’ll go grab it and add it in later.

  2. August 18, 2010 at 3:09 am

    Hi! I am glad you liked the project, all this information you post each month with all the playlists was really useful.

    I was about to send an email to the ‘authors’ of the playlists to tell them about the web project.

    Thank you for the nice comment!

    • xy2610
      August 18, 2010 at 9:17 am

      Your website is awesome!
      Gotta love it.

  3. August 18, 2010 at 7:43 am

    Thanks for the props xy…I put one out around the beginning of each month…they’re usually just 15-18 songs (originally they were single cd length) but I try to find the 15 best (imo) songs from the last month’s drops. The one you linked to was a special project I did – it has some older stuff – here’s the link for the August edition. Look for September in a couple of weeks. Again thanks! Being mentioned on here is huge for me!

    August link: http://thesonicimpetus.com/2010/07/28/the-sonic-impetus-august-2010/

    • August 18, 2010 at 9:15 am

      Oh, that’s great! It is monthly. I’ll fix the post and add the monthly for August and I’ll be sure to watch for the Sept one for my next roundup.

      • xy2610
        August 18, 2010 at 9:17 am

        WoW, this is getting better and better…

    • August 18, 2010 at 9:57 am

      I’ll watch for it. Your August playlist is added now. Great cover art!

      • August 18, 2010 at 10:37 am

        Thanks! All my cover art is photos I’ve taken myself (except the graphic-only stuff). I’m running out of pics though so I need to drag the camera back out if not for anything else but to have more cover art. Thanks again for the post and the kind words. It’s an honor to be included on here.

      • August 18, 2010 at 8:04 pm

        You shot that flower shot? Fantastic! Black velvet background? It looks gorgeous.

      • August 19, 2010 at 4:17 am

        Thank you! Actually, it was growing on the side of a tree covered road and the sun was shining through a break in the trees lighting it up, so I underexposed the camera as far down as it would go. It’s my favorite pic in my collection.

        By the way, the rar password on the older uploads is ‘coven’.

  4. Lisa
    August 19, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    Thank you all for the great music, I really enjoy it. Will come back soon in September 🙂 Best regards, Lisa from Hamburg, Germany. 🙂

  5. Lisa
    August 19, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    BTW, my favourite band is “The Fiery Furnaces” :)))

  6. Hakarat
    September 2, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    Hey indie,

    I just thought i’d take a second and say Thanks! for these monthly play-list round-ups that you take out of your time to compile. They are REALLY useful since I found your website last in July, and have been comin back the last couple of months just for your monthly round-ups.

    Keep them coming along with your awesome play-lists and we will continue to support you 😉

    Cheers.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

