Home > bittorrent, free music, indie, mp3, Music, The Playlist > Indie 69 July 2010 New Music Playlist Released.

Indie 69 July 2010 New Music Playlist Released.

Indie 69 July 2010 Cover Art

Indie 69 July 2010 Cover Art

Wow. So that was a pain in the ass. I go to upload this evening and once again… I get the

MUSIAYLIST BUG at TPB.

It seems it’s IMPOSSIBLE to upload anything with “New Music Playlist” at the end of the upload name, no matter how you separate it, no matter that it’s not over the character limit. Nothing fixes it except placing it at the beginning of the name. *

So this month, the Indie 69 2010 New Music Playlist is called….

NewMusicPlaylist Indie 69 2010

Combine that with a captcha system that is itself WRONG 75% of the time, cover art that despite being the exact size TPB requires to be included in a torrent description is rejected over and over. Even when you use their own re-sizing tool. A description field that won’t let me include links to cover art credit where it’s due. A tracker that rejects torrents being re-upped once they’ve been deleted because of a torrent name bug they refuse to fix, without adding new files so the tracker thinks it’s a different torrent. And you have the ULTIMATE testing of one’s patience and tolerance. Now, don’t get me wrong. I LOVE The Bay. Endlessly. But how many hoops do I have to jump through to SHARE, exactly? Well, it turns out, quite a fucking few. It’s a free service, one that has served the world like no other service ever has. And I temper my frustrations with a modicum of respect and admiration. But it’s still FRUSTRATING. And I’ll be damned if I’m not going to mention it. A lot of people would just quit. So instead of being selfish about it, I’m just going to vent here a little instead. Mm-kay? Good. Now I’m done with that.

THAT is not the reason for the playlist being late again. There are a hundred personal reasons for that. And I won’t bore you with any of it. But I’ve been keeping very busy lately, making people I care about think I don’t care about them. Letting things slide when I never would have before. And just generally being grumpy about it all while trying to smile as some people around me look oddly puzzled about it all simply because they’re not around to see what I do all day. When that’s the reason why I have to do it. Others are not doing those things, so someone has to. That someone is me right now. Then they check my blog and say “hey, didn’t he say he was asleep?” and “Oh… I see he has time to BLOG”. But the reality is I schedule all my posts now and when I do these things like blogging, answering e-mail, putting together playlists, I do it all at the loss of my own time. And yes, sometimes that time is for sleep. But if I know you personally, and you see something like a Twitter notification or a blog post from me… that does NOT mean I’m awake. Just want to make that clear. And please do not superimpose your own anger over my words. I’m not even remotely angry. I don’t have the energy to be angry. I cannot think of a single person I’m mad at. Period.

This month’s playlist, as long as it took to finally come together, is one of my favorites. In spite of the fact that there’s a ton of what some call “Chillwave” this month. A genre I’m not always fond of. But people seem to be playing with it a lot and breaking rules, so there’s some interesting stuff you shouldn’t be so quick to categorize just yet. Give it all a chance and I bet after a few listens you’ll find yourself coming back to a LOT of these tracks as I have. I like lo-fi stuff a lot. But some artists have taken it way too far and in my opinion, when it sounds like crap.. sometimes it JUST sounds like crap. You have to attack lo-fi with material that elevates itself above the low production value or you just end up with a non-catchy, un-hummable, noisy, muddy mess with zero value. Luckily, there’s not much of that here this month. As a matter of fact, I need a new MP3 player with more space because of this month and last month. A lot of stuff I just cannot bring myself to delete and replace with new tracks. And unless you have one of those iPods with practically unlimited storage, I’m sure you know exactly what I mean.

Enough jibber-jabber.

You can find the NewMusicPlaylist Indie 69 July 2010 HERE and at all the usual haunts.

Stay cool and I’ll see you in.. ohcrap… AUGUST already? Make the summer last. It feels like a short one. (TWSS)

P.S. – If you’ve found the chatroom and it’s sadly empty, that’s because I have had NO time for chatting. I’m sure that will change at some point. But not right away. Sorry about that. Go there, stick around and maybe others will show up if you actually wait around for the next person to do what you did. I know people are looking for it and using it a lot because “indie music chatroom” is oddly one of the top searches that lead to this blog. But I think they are ALL popping in for 1 minute and not sticking around. Stick around and wait for the next person. Or don’t. But either way, it’s still there. I’m not.

.

*Does it have something to do with PL being used in Perl scripting? PL is a filename extension. Is it a security measure/error? Hard to say. And I don’t have time to go there and beg for an answer.

  1. JB
    July 4, 2010 at 1:00 am

    chillwave? lo-fi? pfft.

  2. July 4, 2010 at 3:24 am

    If you mean chillwave is not always lo-fi, I agree.

    If you mean chillwave is mostly PFFT, I agree.

    But if you mean chillwave, lo-fi and then you farted? Eww.

  3. July 4, 2010 at 9:32 am

    meh

  4. chloe
    July 4, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    excited to download 🙂 i have like one playlist and it’s like february 2009? so i feel i’m in need of an update.

    i just love your playlists and just everything you do. sigh.

    and the album artworks are always so random.

    keep living your life honey, none of us (well i don’t, anyway, and i don’t see why anyone else would) think you’re sitting about all day eating cup-a-soup and googling things. we know you’re busy. just fit us in somewhere and we’ll sit obediently and wait.

    • July 4, 2010 at 11:16 pm

      Hope you love it. Thanks for the comment. 🙂

  5. xy2610
    July 6, 2010 at 5:55 am

    Got it!
    Thanks!

  6. criznittle
    July 6, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    hey, this is nice. do you have an email to contact?

  7. criznittle
    July 10, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    emailed, feel free to reply anytime!

  8. July 14, 2010 at 3:59 am

    I thought chillwave had died but then I can’t say that since I featured Washed Out a couple of months ago (eep). Lo-Fi is completely different though: people like the Low Anthem could be described as Lo-Fi. It makes me think more of dowbeat Americana but hey, what do I know?

  1. August 17, 2010 at 4:24 am

Leave a Reply

