Home > Uncategorized > Wow, thanks a lot WordPress. That was some bad timing.

Wow, thanks a lot WordPress. That was some bad timing.

Lost about 500 words there. I was on a roll. Then when I went to save, “wordpress will be back soon” or something to that effect is what happened. I think a really decent feature would be to disable the update button if you’re going to bring the site down for a few minutes. That way at least I can copy-pasta the text and save it locally. Especially if clicking on update is going to send me to a page that I cannot back out of to save the text I was TRYING to save so that this sort of thing doesn’t HAPPEN!! GAHD!

end.rant.

Still love ya though, WP.

EDIT: Looks like some people got a little of that recovery action. 😦 good for them.. not so great for me.

  1. psychexfutureheart
    June 10, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    Ugg! I hate that!
    I know the feeling. The only thing you can do is, get over it, and try to retype it all while it’s still in your head.

    • June 10, 2010 at 7:12 pm

      Yep. That’s what I’m trying to do right now. But it huuuuurts. What sucks the most is that what caused it was the act of preventing it by clicking on update. They should never allow that. Site’s not working? Change the msg to “sorry, I’m afraid I can’t do that, Dave. You’re staying right here to copy your text instead”. But nope.. it’s a word-devourer instead.

  2. daK
    July 1, 2010 at 12:36 am

    in case you use firefox, here’s probably the best addon in the world
    https://addons.mozilla.org/de/firefox/addon/6984/

    Just in case murphy’s law strikes again 😉

    • July 2, 2010 at 10:07 am

      Thanks! Great tool.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

