Home > Internet Culture, Music, radio, The Playlist, Uncategorized > This place is here, this post is now.

This place is here, this post is now.

Welcome to the Indie69 blog. Never thought I’d do this, but here it is anyway.

I’ll be writing about new artists and old ones that I think you may have missed out on the first time around.  I chose WordPress because it’s free, flexible, customizable and damn easy to use.  I didn’t want to spend a single penny on the blog because I refuse to make a single penny doing these playlist things.  I think it would be a shame to tarnish the spirit of it all with profit, even if it’s just donations to help pay for bandwidth, etc.  The only thing I ever expect to get from doing this is music in the form of CDs and maybe occasionally some promotional materials. But I won’t even be *asking* for that.  Very few artists have my snailmail address anyway.  I hope I inspire you all to go out and see live music as well as buy music directly from artists (and indie, local CD stores). If we want to preserve our IWOL (internet way of life), it’s very important that we give back to the community of artists that enrich our lives and culture. It’s almost as important to spread the word! This means through your Internet friends on social networks, your meatspace friends AND radio (Internet or traditional). Radio, ahh yes. How I miss you.  If you have a radio station in your area that actually plays new music that you love, encourage, support and BOTHER them to do it more. Radio out there is very nearly dead and it needs the life support of your feedback, in the form of e-mail, calls and mail. Some people even buy and send in CDs, if it’s a truly independent or non-commercial station. If you love music, consider it. You might even consider doing one of these downloadable playlist things yourself. I’ll even help you directly if you so choose. Just drop me a line at indiesixtynine@gmail.com and we’ll get you started. There are just a handful of people doing it and there’s always room for more, especially if you have a genre focus. There’s even a fast-growing community out there for just such a thing run by the guy that makes the best monthly playlist out there now, Blalock. You can find it here:

Blalock’s Indie Rock Playlist – BIRP

It features a LOT of stuff, including a daily video, merch and a vibrant community of Playlist people and music fans. You can’t go wrong with it, and if you love new music, you will NEVER run out of stuff to take for a test drive. Now I just need to get off my lazy ass and accept my invitation to it.

Thanks for reading (yep, both of you) and I look forward to annoying you, entertaining you and informing you. Hopefully not in that order.

  1. March 7, 2010 at 10:04 am

    so much for not spending a penny. oh well.
    a few bucks so I can offer up actual mp3 downloads?
    fine.
    a few bucks so it’s easier to find with a domain registration
    fine.

    next: a few more bucks to remove any wordpress ads so as to not send the wrong message. or perhaps so that the wrong message is not percieved.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

